List of Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2017

List of Indian Prime Ministers till Now

Jawaharlal Nehru – 1947-64

Tenure – 15th Aug 1947 – 27th May 1964 for 16 years, 286 days


Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of independent India and played a significant role in shaping modern India by imparting modern values and thinking. He was a social reformer and one of his major work towards society was the reform of the ancient Hindu civil code. It permitted Hindu widow to enjoy equal right with men as far as property and inheritance were concerned.

Gulzarilal Nanda

Tenure – 27 May 1964 – 9th June 1964 for 13 days

Tenure – 11th January 1966 – 24th January 1966 for 13 days

He was the first ‘Interim Prime Minister’ of India.

Gulzarilal Nanda (4 July 1898 – 15 January 1998) was an Indian politician and economist who specialized in labor issues. He was the Prime Minister of India for two short periods following the deaths of Jawaharlal Nehru in 1964 and Lal Bahadur Shastri in 1966. Both his terms ended after the ruling Indian National Congress’s parliamentary party elected a new prime minister. He was awarded the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award, in 1997.

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Tenure – 9th June 1964 – 11 January 1966 for 1 year, 216 days

He was the loyal follower of Mahatma Gandhi and gave the popular slogan ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’. Shastri was a soft-spoken person who promoted ‘White Revolution’ to increase the production of milk in India.

Indira Gandhi

Tenure – 24th January 1966 – 24th March 1977 for 11 years, 59 days
Tenure – 14th January 1980 – 31st October 1984 for 4 years, 291 days

Indira Gandhi was the first woman Prime Minister of India and the world’s longest serving woman Prime Minister. Her courage and boldness made India win over Pakistan in 1971. She made a significant contribution to improving international relations with neighboring countries.


Morarji Desai

Tenure – 24th March 1977 – 28th July 1979 for 2 years, 126 days

Morarji Desai was the first non-Congress Prime Minister of India. He and his minister formally ended the state of emergency which was imposed by Indira Gandhi.


Charan Singh

Tenure – 28th July 1979 – 14th January 1980 for 170 days

As a Revenue Minister of Uttar Pradesh Charan Singh removed the Zamindari system and brought in Land Reform Acts.


Rajiv Gandhi

Tenure – 31st October 1984 – 2nd December 1989 for 5 years, 32 days

Rajiv Gandhi became Prime Minister at the age of 40 and played a major role in bringing computers to India. He actually modernized the Indian administration. He improved the bilateral relationships with the US and expanded economic cooperation.


V.P. Singh

Tenure – 2nd December 1989 – 10th November 1990 for 343 days

Vishwanath Pratap Singh, was an Indian politician and government official, the 7th Prime Minister of India from 1989 to 1990. Singh is known for trying to improve a lot of India’s lower castes as a Prime Minister.


Chandra Shekhar

Tenure – 10th November 1990 to 21st June 1991 for 223 days

Chandra Shekhar Singh was an Indian politician who, for a short period of time, served as the 8th Prime Minister of India, between 10 November 1990 and 21 June 1991.

Chandra Shekhar seized the moment and left the Janata Dal with several of his own supporters to form the Samajwadi Janata Party/Janata Dal (Socialist). He won a confidence motion with the support of his 64 MPs and Rajiv Gandhi, the leader of the Opposition, and was sworn in as Prime Minister. Eight Janata Dal MPs who voted for this motion were disqualified by the Speaker Rabi Ray.


P. V. Narasimha Rao

Tenure – 21st June 1991 – 16th May 1996 for 4 years 330 days

P. V. Narasimha Rao was one of the ablest administrators who brought major economic reforms. He is also known as the Father of Indian Economic Reforms. He dismantled the License Raj and reversed the socialist policies of Rajiv Gandhi’s government. Because of his immense ability, he was also referred to as Chanakya.


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Tenure – 16th May 1996 – 1st June 1996 for 16 days

Tenure –19th March 1998 – 22nd May 2004 for 6 years 64 days

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was one of the finest Prime Ministers of India. During his tenure, the inflation was very low in India. He worked on economic reforms and policies, especially for rural India. It was during his tenure that India Pakistan relationship got slightly better. Telecom industry touched new heights.


H. D. Deve Gowda

Tenure – 1st June 1996 – 21st April 1997 for 324 days

During this period, Deve Gowda also held additional charges of Home Affairs, Petroleum, and Chemicals, Urban Employment, Food processing, Personnel, etc. He had been collectively elected leader of the United Front coalition government.

I.K. Gujral

Tenure- 21st April 1997 – 19th March 1998 for 332 days

The most important task during his term as PM was his resistance in signing CTBT(Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty). It made a clear way to conduct the Pokhran nuclear tests. He worked towards improving the relationship with Pakistan and gave a five-point doctrine known as Gujral Doctrine.


Manmohan Singh

Tenure – 22nd May 2004 – May 2014

During the tenure of Manmohan Singh work was done to reform the banking as well as financial sector along with public companies. His government brought in the value added tax and worked on pro-industry policies. The National Rural Health Mission was started in 2005. Eight additional IITs were opened in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Orissa, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Himachal Pradesh.


Narendra Modi
Tenure – May 2014- Till Date

Narendra Damodardas Modi assumed office on May 26, 2014. He is the 15th Prime Minister of India. Since the beginning of his tenure in 2014, Modi has laid down a strict and disciplined system of governance. He has enforced many policies such as the Jan Dhan Yojana, Swachh Bharat Abhiyan – aimed towards cleanliness marking the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi in 5 years, Clean Ganga project, etc. for the upliftment of the nation.

3,810 total views, 0 views today